Jennifer Pearce

Hi there! My name is Jennifer and I am one of the newest members to MomTalk and JustKiddin'. I am a 40-year-old mother who works outside the home. I live with my husband of eleven years and our two young daughters. After being a stay-at-home-mother for six years, I re-entered the workforce when my husband was briefly unemployed. When he returned to work, I chose to keep working due to economics and the age of my daughters at the time. I now work as the advertising manager of a community newspaper and appreciate how working has gotten me much more involved in my community. However, I often miss the opportunity to spend more time with my daughters, or to volunteer more time with their school and activities. My older daughter is a 10-year-old fourth grader, and my younger daughter is a 6-year-old kindergartener. Their many activities and my husband’s complicated work schedule make scheduling our number one family challenge. He works a rotating shift in a retail store that includes many nights and weekends. We struggle to preserve our time together as a family and make the most of it, while still finding time to accomplish our individual goals and pursue our favorite interests. My interests include reading, writing and photography. I love taking family photos and completed a Project 365 in 2010, taking a photo a day for the year. It was a wonderful experience to document our life for a year and appreciate all the little pieces of it. I am currently working to put the 365 pictures into a scrapbook…if I can just find the time. I look forward to sharing our journey with you here on JustKiddin'!

kelly-gump

Hello to all of you! My name is Kelly Gump and I will be blogging on JustKiddin! am the mother of two boys who are 8 and 9. This is our second time living in Eastern NC. I am the wife of an active duty Marine so this is house #4 in eight years of marriage (not unlike many of you I’m sure). Our oldest child was born here and our youngest in Georgia. I am originally from Ohio and I hope to get back there one day. In my pre-mom life I attended Ohio State (Go Bucks!) where I earned a BS in zoology. I went on to a Masters degree in education and into the classroom. My first teaching job was here in Jones County and I loved every minute of it. I did decide to stay home once we had our first child and I also love that (really..I do:), but I sort of cheat and have some work on the side to keep me sane. I am lucky enough to work part time from home as an online teacher and in the past, I enjoyed working part time at St Annes Day School where the boys were students. Every day it seems I am surprised by something else from the boys. They really are not little guys anymore, but they are certainly not big guys either. We had our ups and downs when my oldest started kindergarten, my youngest has to be THE pickiest eater on the planet and while they boys are best friends…they fight…..alot. Throw in two dogs, three part time jobs, several very long deployments and you pretty much have our life. I am excited to share my stories with you and to hear some of yours. Here we go...

 

Health News

A Living Donor

I have previously blogged about organ and tissue donation.  It is a close …

Read More »

Recent Comments